Reach Out and “Click” Someone

Michelle_for_cardsSubmitted by Toastmaster Michelle Gillies

Toastmasters is an amazing organization. The very first meeting was held on October 22, 1924 in Santa Ana, California. Fast forward 85 years and 12,000-plus clubs that meet in 106 countries and you have Toastmasters International, today. That is incredible! What really makes that incredible is that because of the internet we all have access to each other.

I admit I spend a lot of time on the computer. It has become a necessary tool for me professionally and personally. As well as websites, I use  twitterlinkedinfacebook and blogs. This has opened up the world to me immeasurably and I have met and communicated with some of the finest Toastmasters across the world.

Debbie Roes lives in San Diego, California. We met on twitter. She is the webmaster for District 5  and has been very generous with her time and advice. Check out her District 5 Toastmasters site and then check out her Ovation Timer site where she has some excellent speaking tips and video “snippets”.

Dr. Shaun Jamison is a Distinguished Toastmaster. He’s from Minneapolis, Minnesota, and we met on linkedin in and we chat on twitter. I read his blog  on a regular basis.

I also belong to a group called “The Official Toastmasters International Members Group” on linkedin. I have talked to Toastmasters in Hawaii, Germany, and Taiwan …to name a few.

My point is (and I do have one), your family of Toastmasters is bigger than you could imagine and it is time to get to know them. Just take that first step and visit the Toastmasters International site.

Enjoy the adventure!

One response to “Reach Out and “Click” Someone

  1. Good luck with the new blog. No wonder your Toastmasters group is such a success – with all this passion and communication skill!