Competing in Contests

DEBORAH BARTUCCISubmitted by Toastmaster Deborah Bartucci

I am a contest competing hound. When I originally joined First Oakville Toastmasters I made a pact with myself that I would participate in the Toastmaster program and that I would enter as many contests as possible. Well after 7 years, I have been in all of the contests – Table Topics, Tall Tales, Evaluation, Humourous and of course International contest.

I have grown to like them all but my favourites are Tall Tales and Humourous contests. Just recently we held our Humourous contest – what fun!!! With this contest you get to tell a zany story, have fun, and make people laugh. If you read anything in the Toastmaster training you will know “ if you can make the audience laugh you have them in the palm of your hand”. It is a great place to practice incorporating laughter into any speech.

The night of our contest there were great speeches – a tough competition- has all of the competitors were excellent. To our good fortune, Matt Wagner and I moved forward to the Area level.
As this is a new area for First Oakville Toastmasters it was a new challenge. I learned that sometimes you become too comfortable always competing, as we have, in the same area since I joined. There were new clubs in this new area which in turn meant new competitors. I was a little nervous at first just coming out of my comfort zone but soon the adrenaline kicked in and I had some fun.

I encourage all of you to stretch your limits, move out of your comfort zone, have some fun and sign up for the next contest you are eligible for.

Comments are closed.