It Really Pays Off

Submitted by Toastmaster Jamie McHardy

Toastmaster Jamie McHardy

I gave a speech at one of my best friend’s wedding on Saturday night and it was the best public speaking experience that I ever had. I wrote the speech early in the week and practiced it for a few hours until I had memorized it. In fact I practiced it so much that I started to recite it to my fiancé with an Irish accent, since I am not Irish and my accent wasn’t very good, she didn’t find it as funny as I did. As the ceremony ended and we all arrived at the reception, I didn’t feel as nervous as I used to feel when I was about to speak in public. In fact, instead of being nervous I was comfortable and confident. Instead of worrying about my nerves I made sure to think about vocal variety, eye contact and speech delivery. Being a member of First Oakville Toastmasters for almost a year and a half has really helped me, and I wanted to let all the newbie’s know that it really pays off.

Jamie

9 responses to “It Really Pays Off

  1. Deborah Bartucci

    Good for you Jamie!!! I see your confidence building everytime you take a role or give a speech. Now that you have delivered the speech that you originally joined T/M for don’t give up. Now is when you will really FLY.

    Deborah

  2. That is awesome Jamie! To be able to concentrate on your delivery as opposed to your nerves seems like a huge hurdle to have overcome. I will look forward to the day I can feel the same.

    Congratulations and I hope you will give us a chance to hear your irish accent!

  3. Congratulations Jamie! I am sure this was just the warmup for your big day in August. By the way, I’m with Linda on the Irish accent, we want to hear the Irish accent.

  4. Fantastic, Jamie! By the way, I would really like to hear your Irish accent.

  5. Good job! Amazing how one’s comfort level increases with practice… good advice to all toastmasters, newbies and oldies alike.

  6. Glad it went well. That’s what it’s all about, and the best is yet to come. Trust us.

  7. Congratulations Jamie. Now that you have achieved the original objective for joining Toastmasters hopefully you will continue on and take your experiences to a higher level of achievement.

  8. Val Clements

    Way to go Jamie!

  9. Beatrice Ten-Thye

    Congratulations, Jamie.