Mentoring

Another great article in this morning’s Globe and Mail. This time it’s on mentoring.

In “Three tips for successful mentoring” author Stephanie Dixon, a Paralympic athlete with 19 Paralympic medals and now assistant Chef de Mission for the TO2015 Parapan American Games, says the best training you can possibly have to become an effective mentor is to be the beneficiary of mentoring yourself.Stephanie+Dixon+Paralympics+Day+7+Swimming+oHagszajPSbl

At First Oakville Toastmasters we introduced an enhanced mentoring program a few years ago and the benefits have been obvious and welcome.

Every member at our club is given the opportunity on an annual basis to request a specific mentor or to have a competent mentor assigned to them.

As president of First Oakville I asked our immediate past president to be my mentor for this season. I’ve been a Toastmaster for 23 years now and I still see a great benefit in having a mentor.

Mentors and mentees can work in different ways. I had one mentee a few years ago who almost exclusively communicated through e-mail. I was sure this wasn’t going to work but it did. Any time my mentee had a question he emailed me and I replied and then at the next meeting he’d flawlessly carry out his assignment.

Read this article on mentoring and join (or rejoin) a Toastmaster club in your own community. First Oakville Toastmasters meets in the Knights of Columbus Hall on Wallace Road in Oakville. Our first meeting is Sept. 10 and arrive at 7:15pm.

(Unfortunately there appears to be no link to this Globe and Mail article online.)

3 responses to “Mentoring

  1. Having been mentored by you, Peter, I can attest to the fact that you know what you are talking about. It was an honour to have your guidance through my Toastmaster adventures. I can also say that it was just as much an honour for me to mentor one of the newer members when the time came. I’m not sure she learned as much from me as I did from her but it was a wonderful experience.